Dear Fellow Facebookers,…

I have a friend who like me, has decided to speak out, against being raised a “Christian” in today’s “traditions”   How the bible contradicts.   Read it in his own words.   He posted it on Facebook and with his permission I’m posting it on my blog.

Dear Fellow Facebookers,

What I have to say I never EVER thought I’d say here online. My mind has been changed-not without inner conflict like crazy, but changed nonetheless. I surely cannot be alone here, but I’ll understand if you don’t wish to associate yourself with me after reading this. I tagged some of you for now. Please read carefully, or skim it at least… and let it sink in-I tried to shorten all this, but to no avail-yet.
I don’t recall ever asking to believe in a god before being born. In addition, I’ve never really understood the atheist’s position most of my life. I was raised Baptist, until that went horribly wrong with rumors and such supposedly tearing the church in half. I was then flung into “Non-Denominational” belief. It was amazing I thought, the independence of it, until about 20 some years of my life was wasted, (I say this because of after going to service as much as possible did not seem to make me better at Christianity-I was getting so much fire and brimstone, being told BOTH that I could and could not be permanently saved, plus other exotic additions to the Bible that just stank ). I got involved in on-campus ministries, a total of two…loved the good news but was not told about the bad,(if you get me). I was approached by other ministries that supported Fundamentalist, Catholic, Mormon, Jehovah’s Witness, and many others including a strange group talking of a “God the Mother”, and even, (lol), a Hare Krishna Monk, who despised the idea that Christians have their savior on a cross, after going through horrid torture. He introduced me to the “All Attractive One”. I was also constantly perplexed at the Middle East’s problem-why COULDN’T those people, (Muslim, Christian and Jew alike), get along?

Of course I’ve been “bombarded” by messages of anti-theists or atheists from time to time. By the way, the word “atheist” means “lack of a belief in a god or gods”…Why? No evidence for one, and well, keep reading-you’ll figure the rest out, if you did not already know. I often despised how they dared to open the Bible and say that God was not good and that Christians were horrible. Not truely I think, until I went online, and decided to try and understand the atheists, by looking at some of the scriptures they put up to challenge the Christian mindset, (The Atheist Experience), and coupled it with the Holy Bible, did it click. “Do yourself a favor and take on the challenge” I thought. Let’s SEE if there ARE contradictions, mistranslations, and evils done by God, in the Holy Bible,(according to Atheist Experience videos and other vids). What I found next left me saddened. It pains me a little still-not as much as it did before. Read Jeremiah 19 and make sure to spend time on verse 9. “Why?” was one of my many questions.
Then I looked up stuff like the “101 Biblical Contradictions” (http://www.answering-christianity.com/101_bible_contradictions.htm), and wow. I mean, even if most of the stuff on this list weren’t true, and I admitted it, if even ONE of them WAS true, it would put a dent in the perfection-it would in effect take the “Holy” out of the Holy Bible. Of course it wasn’t this small dip into the pool of reason alone that triggered my conscience. I’d like to say that I still believe, and I never EVER thought I’d say this, but I don’t know if I ever had a real reason to. The above paragraph only lists a smidgen of what mess I found while studying Christianity. It sucks! all this time, going to service at many different churches and congregations, meeting very kind and well-meaning people, (people I’m friends with), and all the while never really opening that book and studying it like my pastor told me. When I do to prove that my God is real, it all falls to pieces. Recently I’ve been looking at every religion I could find-and in detail. The results were disappointing to say the least and horrifying to say the most-some left me in a haze.
In addition there are gay people I’ve come to know and respect, (or at least try to-until I learned more about how hypocritical my stance was), which the book I’ve valued says WILL be cursed. There are women I know in my family and as friends, and the Holy Bible says they are to be silent and shut up while the men preach.This is just the tip of the iceberg. So much repression of my desires, all the repenting and kneeling-laying prostrate in the damn bathroom at college-all for nought…Silly me. I remember reaching a point of questioning God, before becoming what I’ve become now. This man inside me must tell you the truth. After talking to a close pal of mine at the Mall of America, he shook his head and I’ve never seen him since. my own mom doesn’t understand my decision yet, and I hate that. Here’s the problem I have…why does a book that halfway defends thinking for yourself, doing good works and receiving the good of God also support the idea that “faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the Word of God?” Was this book just written by men of the ancient Middle East, by minds trying to tell a story about themselves as Israelites? Did it just happen to include the beliefs of people that wanted oppressive power to rule, while marching under the guise of peace and eternal joy?
Are we predestined Christian or does it depend on choice? (http://www.biblegateway.com)-KJV
*Predestination-Ephesians 1:11
*Choice of a man-John 3:18
Can Christians sin? (http://www.biblegateway.com)- KJV
*Not at all. They’ve been God-born.I John 3:9
* There are none good but God, (the Father). Mark 10:17-18

Who really killed Goliath-David or Elhanan the son of Jaare-oregim?
*David, of course! I Samuel 17:49
*Seems like this is not a contradiction as it was the brother of Goliath killed here-Right? Not so, it was Goliath who was slain by Elhanan (pay close attention to the fine print line underneath this scripture on BibleGateway, then open your Bible and look..if you’re into Bible history trace it all back to the Latin Vulgate version, or even Hebrew to see what it really says. It was not the “brother of Goliath” at all, according to the New International Version, (NIV), like the King James Version should stress. Here Below is what I have sampled, (Credit is Due to the BibleGateway site).
2 Samuel 21:19
New International Version (NIV)
19 In another battle with the Philistines at Gob, Elhanan son of Jair[a] the Bethlehemite killed the brother of[b] Goliath the Gittite, who had a spear with a shaft like a weaver’s rod.
Footnotes:
2 Samuel 21:19 See 1 Chron. 20:5; Hebrew Jaare-Oregim.
2 Samuel 21:19 See 1 Chron. 20:5; Hebrew does not have the “brother of.”
*link: ( http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=2 Samuel+21:19&version=NIV )

*I highlighted that last part for a reason.
Next question-does salvation come by FAITH ALONE or BY FAITH AND WORKS?
Ok, Juxtapose these two scriptures together(Ephesians 2:8-10 & James 2:14-26 below): These are very important! (Credit to BIBLOS aka BIBLE.CC) * parts I have emphasized so that you might see them better. Be sure to open your Bible and study them up close and personal and read it all.
* >
King James Version 8For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: 9Not of works, lest any man should boast. 10For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.
VS.
* >
King James Version 14What doth it profit, my brethren, though a man say he hath faith, and have not works? can faith save him? 15If a brother or sister be naked, and destitute of daily food, 16And one of you say unto them, Depart in peace, be ye warmed and filled; notwithstanding ye give them not those things which are needful to the body; what doth it profit? 17Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone.
18Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works: shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works. 19Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble. 20But wilt thou know, O vain man, that faith without works is dead? 21Was not Abraham our father justified by works, when he had offered Isaac his son upon the altar? 22Seest thou how faith wrought with his works, and by works was faith made perfect? 23And the scripture was fulfilled which saith, Abraham believed God, and it was imputed unto him for righteousness: and he was called the Friend of God. 24Ye see then how that by works a man is justified, and not by faith only. 25Likewise also was not Rahab the harlot justified by works, when she had received the messengers, and had sent them out another way? 26For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also.
Then include this one:
*Jesus Christ the same yesterday, today and forever- HEBREWS 13:8
If Jesus is God, then he cannot change-but he just did. See it again here in I Samuel.
Prophet Samuel is facing off with King Saul at the time: I Samuel: 23-34
23For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry. Because thou hast rejected the word of the LORD, he hath also rejected thee from being king.
24And Saul said unto Samuel, I have sinned: for I have transgressed the commandment of the LORD, and thy words: because I feared the people, and obeyed their voice. 25Now therefore, I pray thee, pardon my sin, and turn again with me, that I may worship the LORD. 26And Samuel said unto Saul, I will not return with thee: for thou hast rejected the word of the LORD, and the LORD hath rejected thee from being king over Israel. 27And as Samuel turned about to go away, he laid hold upon the skirt of his mantle, and it rent. 28And Samuel said unto him, The LORD hath rent the kingdom of Israel from thee this day, and hath given it to a neighbour of thine, that is better than thou. 29And also the Strength of Israel will not lie nor repent: for he is not a man, that he should repent. 30Then he said, I have sinned: yet honour me now, I pray thee, before the elders of my people, and before Israel, and turn again with me, that I may worship the LORD thy God. 31So Samuel turned again after Saul; and Saul worshipped the LORD.
32Then said Samuel, Bring ye hither to me Agag the king of the Amalekites. And Agag came unto him delicately. And Agag said, Surely the bitterness of death is past. 33And Samuel said, As thy sword hath made women childless, so shall thy mother be childless among women. And Samuel hewed Agag in pieces before the LORD in Gilgal.
34Then Samuel went to Ramah; and Saul went up to his house to Gibeah of Saul. 35And Samuel came no more to see Saul until the day of his death: nevertheless Samuel mourned for Saul: and the LORD repented that he had made Saul king over Israel.

Also what’s WITH all the English versions of the Bible anyway? I mean for example NIV is easy enough to read for a lot of folks, right? So much wasted money printing a book about a God that has not even been scientifically proven, (search Christopher Hitchens, Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, Matt Dillahunty and others, please). Also consider that our founding fathers had different views on Christianity than some might think,(http://freethought.mbdojo.com/foundingfathers.html#washington ). Think about the scientists that have truly given to our way of life, and the body of evidence that supports an Earth vastly older than 6,000 years. I want you all to do some research if you think me wrong to post this. Anyway, I do love you all as human beings, and will respect your right to do whatever you like within reason, even believe what you like. However, keep in mind that politics and religion have been attempting to mix in this country, to force the evidenceless faith upon those of us who’d rather be skeptical of life until its understood.

In addition, we have so many denominations of Christianity alone, you’d be seeing one Christian trying to save another…Dang! Sure I loved the stories of harmony in the Bible, but why must they be next to SUCH hate? Why does a God who claims to be Good create SUCH turmoil? See Isaiah 45:7. Since it seems that God can’t make up His mind, I will make mine up. I love you guys so much. That is why I must tell you all the truth! Pass this on if you wish to as many as possible. If you don’t want to, I’ll understand.
Sincerely,
Tobie Lee Allen II

 

Leave a Reply

